Banned from Quora

Justin.tv ejected from Ruby on Rails community for not being smarmy enough

In Startups, Technology on January 13, 2012 at 3:49 am

A recent post on Djangohire.com has rocked the Ruby on Rails community with the news that Justin.tv is leaving the crystalline palace for the Django slums.

“What happened? I’ll tell you what happened,” said Justin Kan, founder and namesake of the company. “I was at a Ruby event and I said ‘Ruby is just a tool like any other.'”

Kan, sporting an arm cast, declined to comment any further. “My lawyer tells me not to say anything past that.”

Investigation by Founder Daily reveals extensive blacklisting in the Ruby community. The Django community, on the other hand, has accepted the spurned startup with open arms.

“Community?” asked James Penn, avid Python programmer and Django user. “Oh, you mean like, people who use it? Yeah, I guess it’s cool if Justin.tv uses Django too. Is that what you meant? I don’t really understand the question.”

“Ruby is just better,” said every Rubyist we interviewed.

Justin.tv does not yet have a date set for the decidedly worse Django version of their video service.

